Getty Images
Serena has proven once again that she is not here for the nonsense.

Old timer (Lol) Tennis Pro John McEnroe, 58, told NPR that Serena would be “like No. 700 in the world” if she competed on the men’s tennis circuit.

Uh Oh, no you didn’t. Williams let him know exactly how she felt about the comment.

You always have one that will try you. And apparently her fans agreed.

McEnroe did however, acknowledge that Serena is an “incredible player,” but that he doesn’t think that she would fare well against the men. 

Following the backlash McEnroe received, he had this to say:

“I felt the need, however unfortunately, to defend myself and say what I really felt, which is about what I think she would be,” The Sydney Morning Herald quoted McEnroe as saying.

“I’ve got a solution. Solve the problem, and I’m sure the men would be all for this – the men and women play together. And then we don’t have to guess.”

When asked if he would like apologize for his comments, the tennis legend said was emphatic in his response.

“No. I didn’t know it would create controversy. I’ve said this 1000 times. I don’t want anything to go wrong with Serena because she’s pregnant. I don’t want to upset her,” he said.

“I think she’s doing it tongue in cheek as well and I think deep down we’re talking about something… I can’t even believe we’re talking about it,” he added.

John, you sound like bitter grapes. One things for certain Serena is the “Best female player ever – no question.”

Leave a Reply

