Mary J Blige has been very vocal about her marriage (Picture: Getty)

Mary J Blige gave an emotionally charged performance at the Essence Festival over the weekend and opened up about the struggle of going through a divorce.

Talking to Tamaron Hall for Essence Magazine at the 2017 Essence Music Festival, Mary was forthcoming on her feelings.

“I don’t know if people seen the last eight or five years of my life, but it’s been hell,” she said on a panel at festival in New Orleans on Friday. “And it’s been ugly and it’s been public and it’s been nasty. So, in the midst of all that. And the stuff that people don’t even know about fighting for my life, fighting for my marriage, fighting for my morals and everything I discovered my strength. My strength, my real strength is discovered.”

She also talked about her new album, Strenght of a Woman, and how it made her stronger. 

“The journey that got us here is that every woman can relate to a woman out there fighting for her marriage,” she described. “When I first started writing this album I was fighting for my marriage. There were a lot of layers to me peeled back for this marriage. I really thought I did [find] the love of my life.”

Mary filed for divorce after 12 years from Kendu Isaacs in 2016 over claims of his infidelity, previously basing the decision on his ‘overwhelming disrespect.’

Mary J and Kendu (Picture: Getty)

Mary said her relationship with God helped her through it all.

“The journey that got us here is that every woman can relate to a woman out there fighting for her marriage,” she described. “When I first started writing this album I was fighting for my marriage. There were a lot of layers to me peeled back for this marriage. I really thought I did [find] the love of my life.”

Y’all know, Mary puts out some great music when there are issues in her life.

But I hope it’s smooth sailing for her the rest of the way.

Leave it in God’s hands Mary.

Leave a Reply

