Getty Images

We all know we live in a world where beauty is in the eye of the beholder.

But who determines what’s beautiful?

South Sudanese model Nyakim Gatwech, 24, is comfortable in her own skin. She’s been nicknamed the ‘Queen Of The Dark’. 

It was suggested by an Uber driver suggested that she bleach her skin.

‘He said, ‘Don’t take offense but if you were given 10 thousand dollars would you bleach your skin for that amount?’’ Nyakim wrote that she couldn’t even respond because she started laughing so hard.

When she finally stopped laughing she replied ‘Why on earth would I ever bleach this beautiful melanin God [blessed] me with.’

She also added that he responded with ‘So you look at it as a blessing?’ The Uber driver had no idea how inappropriate, offensive, and racist his questions were.

Instagram

Breaking down the barriers in fashion, she’s also working for the rights of black people all across the globe.

Instagram

Her patience has truly been tested though, like the comment made by the Uber driver.

‘You won’t believe the kind of questions I get and the kind of looks I get for having this skin,’ she told Huffington Post. ‘As I grew I learned to love myself more every day and not pay attention to the negative people, which helped a lot.’

Instagram

Nyakim told Yahoo Beauty that she definitely does see her dark skin as a blessing. ‘I love every part of it, I love the fact my skin is unique and that my whole skin is one tone,’ she said. ‘And finally, how soft my skin is.’

Instagram

I’m all here for the melanin. You are beautiful inside and out!

#myblackisbeautiful

Leave a Reply

