Frederick Nolan Sorrell
 
It’s about time someone realizes you can’t get away with racist hate in this country.

That’s what’s a Multnomah County Judge proved when Frederick Nolan Sorrell, 49, was charged with second-degree intimidation after a Muslim couple was allegedly subjected to slurs and intimidation May 29, 2017, incident.

Sorrell broke down in tears and expressed regret after his court arraignment Monday morning.

Sorrell reportedly drove next to the couple for more than 20 blocks, according to a statement from The Oregon Committee of the Council on American-Islamic Relations.

CAIR said he reportedly attempted to hit their vehicle several times and shouted “take off the (expletive) burka, this is America, go back to your (expletive) country” before mimicking firing a handgun pointed at the couple.

He pled not guilty Monday and will be back in court again in August. He’s also banned from Facebook according to the judge, where he made several discriminatory comments.

Portland police said Sorrell threatened a Muslim using words and hand gestures during the incident in May, but Sorrell says he was waving his hand and pointing his finger, but not making a gun gesture. 

Sorrell said in tears outside the Multnomah County courtroom, “I never tried to run into them. I was just going to work. I never tried to follow them. I never tried to make contact with them after the fact.”

Yeah right!

He did admit to yelling at the couple.

“I guess my fear and paranoia, I just yelled out. I don’t go on social media looking to hate on people,” he said. “I guess my ignorance and my stupidity is why I opened my mouth, and I shouldn’t have and I claim full responsibility.”

“I don’t know who you are. I’m sorry I blurted out what I blurted out, my paranoia my fear. I don’t hate you I don’t know you,” Sorrell said. “I don’t wish death upon these people.”

“If the victims want to sit down and talk I would love to sit down and have an open conversation with them and have an open mind and apologize,” he said. “I just don’t know them, and all I know is fear based information.”

CAIR-Oregon spokesperson Zakir Khan said, “We hope the arrest of this suspect will serve to deter others from committing bias-motivated crimes targeting Muslims or any other minority group. CAIR-Oregon thanks the Portland Police Bureau and the Portland Mayor’s office for their diligent efforts in this case.”

Cry me a river. I hope they make an example and lock him up for a year.

Send a message to the hate mongers that your are not acceptable in today’s society.

You will surely cry when you get in that nice apartment with the silver bars, 3 hots and a cot!

Leave a Reply

